Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Molly’s Turn: A couple of recent completions

For Leah

Flowers for Bubba 
We needed to remember Bubba's wonderful spirit and surround him with his sister and brother.  

Norm and Marilee
A painting that took a long time to completion. First started in 2011 with a photo lacking in any real detail. I am finally pleased with it’s completion.

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Guy Colwell Has a New Show

For more info on Guy Colwell see our past blog posts:

March 11, 2018 & February 25, 2018

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

Codex VII

We had fun attending Codex VII, the international book fair. The event ran from February 3-6, 2019 at the Craneway Pavilion, on the waterfront in Richmond, California (With probably the best view of the Bay Area to be seen).

Codex is held biennially with the intent “to create an environment for promoting the book as a work of art”.

It features book artists, printmakers, bookbinders, papermakers, special collections librarians and fine press printers from all over the world.

Here’s the booth of Antonio Guerra Gonzalez and Tinta Taller from Mexico City.

  copyright  Antonio Gonzalez      more info:

Here’s one of thirteen knockout copper etching by Jared A. Nielsen for the upcoming edition of  H. P.Lovecraft’s “The Case of Charles Dexter Ward” (to be published by Uncanny valley Press).

Erin McAdams did some very timely prints

I really like the block prints of Valdimir Zikamov
(This photo snagged from the Codex website)

He’s illustrated a number of fine books including The Golem by Gustav Meyrink, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, The Call of Cthulhu and Selected Strange Tales by H.P. Lovecraft, John Fowles’ The Collector, and coming soon Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes.

Zimakov’s block print for an Amanda Palmer poster
Art copyright Valdimir Zikamov

             Some very cool stuff at the booth of printmaker Art Hazelwood

And a few other random samplings:

Monday, December 31, 2018


Our New Year’s card

We hope to reemerge from our shelter this coming year. 
In the meantime:
Happy New Year!

Monday, December 24, 2018


                                         Cover by Emsh from Galaxy Science Fiction, January 1956

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Pressing Matters IX: Printmakers Group Show

The 9th annual Pressing Matters show at the Maurice Del Mue Galleries, San Geronimo Valley Community Center has come and gone.

                                       Katya McCulloch’s amazing reduction block

This year’s crew of printmakers --exhibiting woodcuts, linocuts, lithographs, silkscreen, etchings, collograpahs, monotypes and mono prints and other variations on printmaking--include Fred L. Berensmeier, Geoff Bernstein, Martha Cederstrom, Danielle Fogel, Zachary Gilmour, Lars Johnson, Elan Kamesar, Sophia Larsen, Katya McCulloch, Cindy Miracle, Barbara Morris, Elaine Nehm, Larry Rippee, Gabriele Schwibach, Xander Weaver-Scull, and James Craft, Bruce Fowler, Gary Harrell, Samuel Marquez and Michael Williams of the San Quentin Prison Project.

Here are atlas a few of the works from the show (I hope to dig up more).

                                   Collograph by Fred Lee Berensmeier

Monotype, Xerox-transfer and ink by Sophia Larsen

                                                  Etching by Sophia Larsen

                                                Etching by Sophia Larsen

Xander Weaver Scull’s complex stencil/monoprint technique (usually with his own hand made inks)

Two more by Xander Weaver Scull

                        A multi media approach by Martha Cederstrom

“Noctua’ mixed media block print by Danielle Fogel

                                   Two silkscreen’s by Geoff Bernstein

                                   Monoprints by Barbara Morris

Here are a few pieces from the San Quentin Prison Project

Linocut by James Craft

Lino block print by Samuel Marquez 

           The stunning five-color reduction block print 'Back Door Man" by Gary Harrell

         Thanks to Katya McCulloch for providing the work from her San Quentin students

Lars Johnson, in a departure from his abstract work contributed these woodcuts:

And, oh yea, my anxious piece, titled “Normalization of Deviance”

There was much more to the show than this. My apologies to artists not present here.

I’ll post more shots from the show when they emerge.